Managing Layers

You manage layers using any of the following three methods: 1) Layer Dialog, 2) Drawing Data Manager or 3) Drawing View.

In the Layers Dialog

The Layers Dialog lists each layer used in the drawing. Use this dialog to turn layers on/off, freeze layers, lock layers and more. The layer tools in this dialog are similar to layer tools found in many CAD programs.

To access the Layers Dialog in Drawing View, choose Tools | Layers right click any blank spot on the drawing and choose Layers.

In the Drawing Data Manager

The Drawing Data Manager contains a folder that lists all the layers in the drawing. Layers that are turned on have a check mark in the check box next to the layer name. To turn a layer On or Off, just left click the check box. The Drawing Data Manager can also be expanded to show each object on a layer.

Drawing View

Right click any drawing object and choose Layer Tools. Choose an option like Freeze or Ignore.

Adding Layers

You can add up to 200 of your own layers. These are sometimes called ‘User' layers as opposed to ‘Predefined' layers. You will give the new layer a layer name then treat it like any other layer. You can make it the current layer and add objects to it, turn if off, freeze it, lock it, etc.

User layers are assigned a layer ID between 50 and 254 inclusive. The layer id is not displayed in any of the dialogs but is used to relate objects in a drawing file to their appropriate User layers.

Unique Layer Names

If you attempt to add a layer using an existing layer name, TPC will display a warning about entering a unique layer name and not add the layer. Just try it again with a unique layer name.

Deleting Layers

You can delete any User layer that does contain any objects. In the Layers dialog, just highlight one or more layers and choose Delete. If you select a layer that does not qualify for deleting (default layer, predefined layers, or layers with no objects on them), the Layers dialog simply displays a message telling you that one or more layers could not be deleted.

Cleaning up Unused Layers

When you import a DXF file of a drawing, you may discover layers that are unused, and as far as you're concerned, unwanted. You can delete these layers from the drawing so that they don't ‘clutter up' the layers you do want to use. Just highlight them and choose Delete.

Turning Layers On/Off

Turning a layer off makes it invisible in the Drawing View. The objects on the layer are recomputed during a drawing regen, but can not be selected with the mouse.

Layers that are turned off are not exported when you write a DXF file from a drawing. Frozen layers are exported.

To turn a layer off

Right-click an object on the layer you want to turn off and choose Layer Tools | Off.
From the Layers dialog, highlight the layer or layers you want to turn off and choose Off.
In the Drawing Data Manager, expand the Layers folder and un-check the box next to the layer name.

To turn a layer back on

From the Layers dialog, highlight the layer or layers you want to turn on and choose On.

FreezinFreezing/Thawing Layers

Freezing a layer makes it invisible in the Drawing View like turning a layer Off. The difference between freezing a layer and turning it off is that objects on a frozen layer are not recomputed during a drawing regen. Also, frozen layers are exported to a DXF file and layers that are turned off are not.

Because frozen layers are not recomputed during a drawing regen, your drawing will update itself faster. If you have layers with lots of objects (like contour lines) or complex objects, consider freezing these layers until you need to print the drawing.

To freeze a layer

Right-cRight-click an object on the layer you want to freeze and choose Layer Tools | Freeze.
From the Layers dialog, highlight the layer or layers you want to freeze and choose Freeze.

To thaw a layer

From theFrom the Layers dialog, highlight the layer or layers you want to thaw and choose Thaw.

Ignoring/Noticing Layers

When you ignore a layer, the mouse doesn't know it is over the objects on the layer. As a result, objects on an ignored layer can not be selected.

When you have objects, very close to each other, the objects may overlap, making it hard or impossible to select just the objects you want. Ignoring the layers of the objects you don't want makes it easier to select the objects you do want.

To ignore a layer

Right-click an object on the layer you want to ignore and choose Layer Tools | Ignore.
Or
From the Layers dialog, highlight the layer or layers you want to ignore and choose Ignore.

To notice a layer

From the Layers dialog, highlight the layer or layers you want to notice and choose Notice.

Isolating/Restoring Layers

When you isolate a layer, TPC turns off all the other layers so that you see just the isolated layer. The isolated layer also becomes the current layer so that any new objects you add to the drawing are inserted on the isolated layer.

Because layers that are turned off are not written to a Generic DXF file, isolating a layer is an easy way to include just the objects you want in an exported Generic DXF file.

To isolate a layer

Right-click an object on the layer you want to isolate and choose Layer Tools | Isolate.

Restoring layers

Right-click any object on the isolated layer and choose Layer Tools | Restore.
Once you are finished operating on the isolated layer, open the dialog, select the layers you want and choose Restore.

Locking/UnLocking Layers

When you lock a layer, objects on that layer can not be moved or modified. You can still add objects to a locked layer, but once the object is inserted or drawn, it to is locked and can not be moved or modified.

Locking a layer makes sure you don't ‘accidentally' move an object you don't want to move.

To lock a layer

Right-click an object on the layer you want to lock and choose Layer Tools | Lock.
From the Layers dialog, highlight the layer or layers you want to lock and choose Lock.

To unlock a layer

Right-click an object on the layer you want to unlock and choose Layer Tools | Unlock.
From the Layers dialog, highlight the layer or layers you want to unlock and choose Unlock.

Can't Move Survey Objects

Regardless of whether or not you lock any layers, TPC does not allow you to move the survey objects like point symbols and lines that are associated with survey data. If you try to move them, TPC will warn you that it can't. These objects can only be moved by translating, rotating or recomputing the original survey data.

Editions

Personal, Premium, Professional

Related Topics

Layers
Drawings
Drawing View