Web Seminar Registration

 

Using CAD with TPC – Part 3

May 25th, 2022  3 PM Pacific Daylight Time (4 PM Mountain, 5 PM Central, 6 PM Eastern)

A lot has changed since the days when we imported CAD files into TPC drawings.
​We pretty much don’t do that anymore.

In Part 1 (March 24th) we covered

  • inserting XReferences into drawings and calibrating them
  • creating a calibration from the CAD View

In Part 2 (April 28th), we covered CAD Export Workflows

  • adding your survey data to an existing CAD file (updating it)
  • exporting to a one-off (new) CAD file
  • exporting to Civil 3D via LandXML
  • exporting specific layers and objects to your data collector to keep the file sizes small
  • and we’ll do all of these with and without calibrations, just in case the project CRS (CAD file) doesn’t match your survey CRS (Coordinate Reference System)

In Part 3, (May 25th), we’ll explore CAD Import Workflows

  • sending specific entities and layers from a CAD file to a TPC drawing via the CAD View
  • converting CAD entities and layers to survey data from the CAD View
  • when to insert a drawing as an XRef and how to manage its layers
  • importing Civil 3D via LandXML
  • importing specific data from Civil 3D, like Points, Parcels, Alignments and Surfaces
  • and we’ll do all of these with and without calibrations, just in case the project CRS (CAD file) doesn’t match your survey CRS (Coordinate Reference System)

Unified Help System

  • we are just finishing up the new CAD Workflows in our Unified Help System.
  • everything from this 3-part webinar series will be there

CEU Certificates

TPC Connection members are eligible to receive a CEU (Continuing Education Units) Certificate, at no additional cost.

If you are not on the TPC Connection, you will be billed $150 for each successful certificate requested.

  • After the webinar
    • Complete the CEU Request Form, along with the webinar code and payment (if required) within one hour of completion and we will email you the CEU Certificate.
    • We include a link to this form in one or more emails leading up to the webinar.
  • We do not guarantee which states will accept this form of certification. You can refer them to this page for validation.

Request Information