Navigation: Surfaces > Surface Settings >

Survey Advanced Settings dialog

 

 

 

 

The Advanced dialog contains advanced options that will make working with surfaces faster and more flexible..

Manually Recompute

Turn this option on to force the surface to recompute only when you exit the Surface Settings dialog or choose Surface Tools | Recompute.

If this option is turned off, the surface will recompute automatically. This is typically what you want when you edit border points, topo points or breaklines. Once you have the surface the way you want it, you will want to turn this option back on.

Minimize Memory

Turn this option On only if you are NOT planning on using the DTM tools like transecting a traverse or a line. When turned On, TPC discards any intermediate data used to create the surface (i.e. triangles and edges). You can still generate information about a surface when you have minimized memory, but you will not get as much information. See Optimizing Surfaces.

Unique Settings

Turn this option On if you want this surface to appear differently in this drawing that it does in other drawings. See Unique Surface Settings.

Lock the Surface

When you lock a surface, TPC can no longer re-compute the TIN. As a result, the individual triangles, sometimes called 'faces', won't change.

When TPC writes the TRV (survey file), it stores each face in the locked surface. Since each face requires 10 bytes + 1 byte per character in each of the 3 points labels that define the face, a large locked surface will make your TRV files larger.

When you import a CAD file that contains surfaces, TPC automatically locks those surfaces to retain the shape the surface had in the CAD program. You do not need to lock a surface to export it to a CAD file.

Override Layer Names

Turn on 'Override Layer Names with Prefix' and enter a Prefix. TPC will generate a new set of layers for this surface and display the resulting layer names in the Layer Names list. See Surface Layers.

Get Surface Name

Gets the current surface name and places it in the Prefix field. You could type this in yourself but this is more convenient. This command has no affect on the surface unless 'Override Layer Names with Prefix' is turned On.


Related Topics

Surface
Surface Settings

Editions

Premium, Professional

 

 

 

Copyright © 2024 Traverse PC, Inc.