TPC 2026
TPC 2026

 

 

Navigation: Install and Activate >

Deactivating a License

 

 

 

 

Licenses are activated for a particular user and computer. To change users or computers, you must first deactivate the license on the computer that it is activated on and reactivate it on the computer you want to run it on.

 

  

Deactivating a License (6:11) - Learn how to deactivate a license 1) manually, 2) automatically when TPC exits and 3) from the License Manager


Three Ways to Deactivate a License

1.Deactivate manually

2.Remove validation when TPC closes

3.Manage Sites in the License Manager

We'll cover each of these in this topic.


Taking a Laptop Computer Into the Field

If you plan on taking a laptop into the field and running TPC without internet, that computer must remain activated or TPC won't run.  See Running TPC In The Field Without Internet.


Deactivate Manually

You can manually deactivate TPC from any computer that is currently using that license.

•Choose Help, License Activation.... to display the License Activation dialog

•Left-click Deactivate

TPC will deactivate that computer.  The next time that computer runs TPC, it will have to check to see if the activation is still available.


Deactivate license when TPC closes

This option automatically deactivates the license when you exit TPC.  Then, the next time TPC runs on that computer, it sees that it automatically deactivated the license, so it automatically reactivates it, as if you had never turned this option on.

To turn this option on/off

•run TPC and choose Help | License Activation

•toggle [x] Deactivate license when TPC closes on or off


 

It is great for

•networks, where deactivating the license frees it up for any other network computer to use

•switching between two computers that always have internet access to revalidate

It is NOT good for

• if you take a laptop out into the field without internet available, TPC will NOT be able to automatically reactivate the license

•and since the license was deactivated when TPC was closed, it CAN NOT trigger the 30-day grace period

•so do NOT use this for field computers


Manage Sites From the License Manager

You can deactivate a license quickly and easily from any computer, allowing that license to then validate any other computer.

•run TPC on a computer that is not currently validated. TPC displays the License Activation dialog.

•click the License Manager link to open the License Manager


 

•locate your license in the Licenses tab and choose Manage Sites


 

•left-click the Deactivate Site button to free up the license


 

•you can now use that license to activate any other computer


Courtesy Licenses are No Longer Supported

TPC no longer supports courtesy licenses. Instead, you now manage your license on-line, 24/7.


Related Topics

License Management

 

 

 

Copyright © 2026 Traverse PC, Inc.